My first shop order

Last Monday I delivered my first wholesale order to a new shop opening up in Greenwich selling jewellery and accessories.
The manager had been past my stall a few times in the last couple of weeks and spoken to me about how much she loved my Top Hat hairclips, and then on the Friday she came by again with another person who was involved, asked me to come and look at the shop and see what I thought of what they were doing, and the following Monday I went down with my stock and spent an hour arranging it all in a display cabinet, while they were finishing off painting and putting the fixtures and fittings in. This Sunday when I passed I saw that the doors were open and the shop was trading. I’m incredibly flattered to have been approached and asked, and quietly excited to see how well my jewellery and accessories sell in a shop environment. The shop is run by Traffic People, and is next door to their clothing store on Greenwich Church Street. I have my fingers firmly crossed that this will be the first step of many in the right direction to being able to make a living selling my jewellery. Since then I have been working very hard to get my stock levels back up for the stall, and I’m also working on a couple of new design ideas.

Unfortunately it’s not all good news – for the first time since I started trading at the Market I’m going to have to put my prices up. The price of the materials I use has gone up by 20%, and obviously the cost of postage went up in April, which has a two fold effect in terms of how much it costs me to send orders out, but also how much it costs me to get supplies sent to me. I would really rather not have to do this, I know that people don’t have a lot of money at the moment (as I’m one of them!) but if my work isn’t financially viable then I’m doing myself a disservice right from the start. I’m also a bit annoyed that I have to do this two weeks before the Olympic Games starts, because I’m furious with all of the hotels, shops etc that are whacking their prices up specifically to get as much cash as possible out of the games, and I really don’t want to get dumped into that category of opportunistic scumbags, however I probably should have done this a couple of months ago, I’ve just been holding out as long as possible for the benefit of my customers. Also, the shop will be selling my pieces at a higher price as obviously they have larger overheads to pay, so making the difference between the prices less pronounced seems fairer to those that buy my work from the shop (although it will still be cheaper to buy from me directly).

Speaking of the Olympics – from Friday 27th the Market will be changing it’s trading hours to 12-8pm right through until September after the Paralympics finish. This is to try and avoid the large amount of traffic coming through first thing in the morning heading to the Equestrian events in Greenwich Park. It’s going to be an interesting experience trading through this – I’m really not sure what to expect, I suspect it will either be utterly amazing or a complete disaster – time will tell!

~ by Silver Nightshade Jewellery on 17/07/2012.

Leave a Reply

 
