Precious Metal Clay

I have a commission for an Art Nouveau style brooch for a friend’s wedding in September. As she wanted something floral, I decided to do this in Precious Metal Clay. PMC works just like normal clay, except when fired the binding material burns off to leave a solid silver piece behind. Now I’ve used it once or twice in the past, and it’s a fantastic material, although tricky with some of it’s quirks. So far I have exploded one attempt, and melted two others! So in order to avoid these particular ‘accidents’ again, I decided to do some practice pieces first this time. Keeping it nice and simple, I’ve been using a cake decorating stamp to make some small Ivy leaf shapes. Given a polish with a couple of crystals added and ‘voila!’ – my practice pieces were a success.

In fact I sold this pendant today:

~ by Silver Nightshade Jewellery on 15/07/2010.

One Response to “Precious Metal Clay”

  1. I really love this ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤
    It's a great piece, elegant, stylish and simple. Great manual ability.
    I made some clay object too, If you like visit my blog, you're really welcome.
    Bye!
    Fra

Leave a Reply

 
