Alternative Bring and Buy Sale

Well the Bring and Buy Sale is over and done with, and I have to confess, it was a long way short of a success for me (although that was not necessarily the case for others selling there!). I had very little interest in my stall, and only made two sales right at the end of the day. It seems that the event has gained the reputation of being somewhere to pick up huge bargains, and the people that come along now are not interested in the more crafty, and more expensive items for sale. The girls on the stall next to me were also selling handmade jewellery, and they found exactly the same problem. Those that looked were complimentary about my items, but not to the point of putting their hands in their pockets unfortunately. I’ve done two now, and have decided not to do it again. I’m not sure whether it’s down to the people who come along being more interested in second hand clothes and therefore not wanting to spend the cash on more expensive items, or the fact that my work simply isn’t suited to the ‘alternative’ market,  but it’s become apparent that I need to find another outlet. I’m grateful that I’ve done these stalls as the experience was invaluable and it’s helped me to think about the presentation etc that is required. It’s a shame as the people who run the sale are really lovely, however I think my time would be better spent in the future visiting the sale as a customer rather than a seller.

~ by Silver Nightshade Jewellery on 12/03/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
